Books · mental health · Review

Mid-Year Book Freak Out 2023

2023 has been about escape. Fantasy worlds and alternate realities feel so safe, outside of the terribleness of life in general.

Title image: White text on a purple background reads,
MID-YEAR BOOK FREAK OUT 2023

I’m excited to share 4 books that have helped me through a lonely time. Another 4 reviews are coming soon. I have big feelings that must be shared!

#1 – Book that made me happy

The Hereafter Bytes – By Vincent Scott

Book cover: The Hereafter Bytes by Vincent Scott. Subtitle: A funny sci-fi novel.
Picture: A cartoonish, humanoid robot appears to be running away from something. For a face, the robot has a digital screen displaying a man's worried expression.

To the left, a quote from the book reads,
There was a time when I was just your run of the mill asexual college dropout, working at a server farm full of dead people, whose best friend is dominatrix. Totally normal ... okay, I mean, normality is subjective.

This story is about Romeo, a man who no longer has a bio body. His life is surprisingly normal: work, friends, financial woes. This comedy sci-fi was everything I wanted! Romeo’s dominatrix bestie Abigail is in a life-or-death predicament, prompting a literal and digital highspeed chase. Will loyalty to his chosen family lead to Romeo to saving the world?

Digital-life is layered over real-life in this futuristic society. Digital grafitti decorates the city – a positive, artistic effect of techno-media! The negative side of technological advancement exists, too. “Ghosts” like Romeo require real-world infrastructure to enjoy digital utopia, which costs money. Prejudice is evident in the inability of drones to identify ghosts like Romeo as people. He is used to being entirely ignored in public.

In circumstances where Romeo is misjudged, we realize how non-human he seems to the outside eye. But, most of the time, we experience him as an average human with friends, a routine, natural emotions, and wicked wit. It’s a juxtaposition of community and otherness in a minority citizen.

#2 – Biggest surprise

Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret – By Judy Blume

Book cover: Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret by Judy Blume
Other text: Now a major motion picture
Picture: On a pale-blue cover, a young girl in purple plaid reaches to adjust the back of her shoe. Her schoolbag balances on her back. 

To the right, a quote from the book reads,
Are you there God? It's me, Margaret. I'm going to temple today-with Grandma... I'm sure this will help me decide what to be. I've never been inside a temple or a church. I'II look for you God.

Margaret Simon is experiencing a very normal childhood in which her parents move house, from Brooklyn to suburban New Jersey. She’s a well-mannered girl. Clean, polite, thoughtful.

We are privy to Margaret’s prayers as she looks for God in various places, questions her identity, and fears being an outsider. Her new social circle will teach her to choose carefully who is deserving of trust. And, after all, can she trust God?

I, a very spiritual and curious book lover, have finally read ‘Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret‘. I relate to Margaret’s yearning for a relationship with The Creator. As a child, I often found it was easier to “find God” alone rather than in a church. Although Margaret’s parents want her to choose for herself, their own issues with religion complicate her search.

I am familiar with Blume by way of ‘The Tales Of The Fourth Grade Nothing‘ and ‘Blubber‘. I learned what a crush feels like through Peter’s POV. I witnessed the devastation of bullying with Jill. Blume precisely captures the pre-teen experience. Revisit a time when your body seemed an entire, unknowable world and society seemed a mass of contradictions.

#3 – Best audiobook

Highly Suspicious And Unfairly Cute – By Talia Hibbert

Title: Highly Suspicious And Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert
Book cover: Pale pink cover with script in hot pink and white.
The Illustration depicts three evergreen trees, a black teen woman and a black teen man. The woman is curvy, wearing an alien graphic tee and blushing. The man is taller, wearing a compass around his neck and smirking. They give each other side-eye.

To the right, a quote from the book reads,
There's a lot of people in this world, and you just can't categorize them as yes or no, friend or foe.

This is a tale of Awkwardness, Sass, and Revenge. Two over-achieving students compete for a scholarship, realizing their antagonism has many layers.

I loved being in Celine’s head. She is biting, protective, confident, inspired! Celine excels at unraveling conspiracy theories for her popular channel, but she often fails to understand people. And Brad brings out the absolute worst in her! He’s maddeningly cheerful, calm, popular…

In Brad’s head, we feel Celine’s distain. Surely he can tolerate her presence long enough to win a scholarship, despite the competition involving teamwork, leadership skills and (ew) camping outdoors. (Cue disaster!)

White text on a blue background reads,
I'm resilient. (You have to be when your OCD wants you to stay in a nice, clean empty room for safety reasons, but you want to have a life.)
I'm committed. (I did therapy for like five years even though it was really annoying.) I'm a creative thinker (although you wouldn't know it by the way my mind goes blank when I open a word document.)
- Talia Hibbert

I’m not an audiobook expert, but I think the directing was great and the performances were special! Mental health is an important theme with Brad’s ever-present OCD and the pressures on Celine to support her single-parent family. This fast-paced drama has indeed lived up to its title ‘unfairly cute‘.

#4 – Best Book Of 2023 so far

Now That You Mention It – By Kristan Higgins

Book cover: Now That You Mention It, by
Kristan Higgins
Picture: A signpost points in multiple directs on a sky-blue background.

To the right, a quote from the book reads,
I didn't want to be known for all the misery I'd been through. I wanted to be seen as the happiest person around. And I was. God, I was.

Trigger Warnings: Assault, Sexual Assault, Reference to bullying, mental illness, substance abuse, disordered eating.

Do you love a messy main character? Uncovering painful secrets? Multiple generations of family reconnecting? I don’t think I’ve forgotten a single detail since reading this in February. It’s that all-consuming. To tell you would ruin the book, so I will set the scene instead.

This story opens on the main character’s (almost) death. Death by exterminator van. Or, really, death by agreeableness. Because isn’t agreeableness the reason she’s running out for pizza when her hospital shift is over? Isn’t she so perfect, so kind, so competent? A fabulous, lustrous, energetic main character, truly!

A tiny step into the street shakes Nora Stuart out of stagnance. She realizes it’s time to look deeper at how she’s living this life, starting by repairing family connections. As we follow Nora to her island hometown, we learn about the strength and trauma beneath the unflappably cheerful exterior.

Changing it up

Things are good – so firmly good that I feel empowered to choose the direction my life is taking. Reading is once again fueling my passion! I’m no longer only using books for escape.

In the second half of 2023, I aim to blog about more books that I loved. And then what? Let’s find out!

Photo of Robyn's face, a 35-year-old white woman, wearing a blue-gray hood and pink headphones, smiling and wearing no makeup.
A regular day selfie without makeup, just me.

Thank you for reading. 💙

One thought on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out 2023

Leave a comment